Things I Won’t Sell at Garage Sales

Things that I grew up with stay with me. You start a certain way, and then you spend your whole life trying to find a certain simplicity that you had. It’s less about staying in childhood than keeping a certain spirit of seeing things in a different way.

– Tim Burton

This was a writing challenge from The Daily Post and the link to the original post will be right here.


We all have those little things that we like to hold on to, even if we’re not so sure why we do. Though I hoard many insignificant items, there are quite a few that I’ve emotionally bonded with, and would never give away.

From the time when I was just a baby, to even now, a few items besides books  have stayed in my life.

Stuffed animals, we call them. Stuffed dolls, stuffed dogs, cats, figures that don’t fit a category, you name it. I’ve had most of them at least at one point in my life. I’ve always needed something soft to cuddle with, in bed, when I’m just relaxing, or if I’m stressed.

As a younger child most of my imagination centered around my animals, creating families and friends and different stories every time I played. If I went into my closet and pulled out my two giant containers, I could probably still tell you all of their names. 

Of course, some have disappeared over the years, or sold, or traded. My sisters and I would trade stuffed animals sometimes (although we would usually want ours back).

But there are those that I can’t bear to part with. I tell myself that I’m saving them for my own kids, one day. But by then I’ll probably be even more attached, and will continue to hoard them for myself! 

Not really. Maybe.

Still, sometimes I look back at old pictures like the one below and get overwhelmed by nostalgia. Childhood, at the time, seemed frustrating. No one would listen and there were two other babies in the house. Well, at least for me anyway. Now I wish for nothing more than to go back to that time, and enjoy it.

That’s probably why I hold on so tightly to those old toys. I like to pretend that there is still a child somewhere inside. I guess, one day, when I have kids of my own, or even my sisters’ kids, I guess I could share my toys with them.

If they play nicely. After all, I’ve held on to most of these toys for at least 10 years.

photo

3 thoughts on “Things I Won’t Sell at Garage Sales

  1. Pingback: Flower Power | litadoolan

  2. Pingback: Flower Power | litadoolan

Leave a Reply

